Understanding Kentucky drunk driving charges

Drunk driving charges can have a lasting impact on the lives of accused individuals in Kentucky, resulting in a criminal record and other potential penalties and consequences. In Kentucky it is illegal to operate or be in physical control of a motor vehicle under certain circumstances that accused individuals should be familiar with.

In Kentucky, it is illegal to drive while under the influence of alcohol or another substance. It is illegal in Kentucky to drive with a blood alcohol content level of 0.08 or above and the legal blood alcohol limit varies by the age of the driver. In addition to understanding drunk driving charges, it is also important for accused individuals to understand that they should have a criminal defense strategy to respond to the charges they are facing to protect themselves from the significant penalties associated with drunk driving charges.

There are different penalties and consequences associated with a DUI charge depending on the criminal and DUI history of the accused individual. If the accused individual is facing their first DUI charge in a 10-year period, they are facing a potential fine ranging from $200 to $500 and jail time ranging from 48 hours to 30 days. Additional penalties and alternatives may also apply. If the accused individual is facing their second offense in a 10-year period, they are facing a potential fine ranging from $350to $500 and jail time ranging from 6 months to a year. The potential fines and jail time increase with a third or fourth DUI offense during a 10-year period. Additionally, if any aggravating circumstances are present, it may impact the penalties and consequences the accused individual is facing.

Criminal defense rights protect accused individuals when they have been charged with a DUI or other criminal charges. It is important for accused individuals in Kentucky to be familiar with their criminal defense rights and how to assert those rights when it counts.