When Kentucky authorities stop your vehicle and the traffic stop results in a drunk driving charge, you may face serious penalties if that charge turns into a conviction. Even if it is your first time receiving a conviction for driving while intoxicated or driving under the influence, you are still going to face fines, license suspension requirements and substant abuse program obligations, among other repercussions. Your automotive insurance rates are also going to rise in the aftermath of a Kentucky DWI or DUI.
How much might your insurance rates increase following a conviction for drunk driving? Insure.com reports that nationally, the average first-time drunk driver sees his or her insurance premiums increase by about 80%. In Kentucky, you should expect a large rate hike after a DWI or DUI. However, it typically rises an average of 63%.
Higher insurance premiums
So, how much more might your annual insurance coverage cost you once you have a conviction for drunk driving? If your driving history was otherwise pretty standard, you may wind up paying another $1,022 for insurance coverage after a Kentucky drunk driving conviction. Before your conviction, you may have paid about $1,611 a year for car insurance. With the conviction, expect to pay closer to $2,633 a year to insure yourself.
Non-renewals and cancellations
In some cases, your current insurer may decide to cancel or not renew your insurance policy because it views you as more of a liability because of the drunk driving arrest. Your insurer may also decide to gouge your rates until they become difficult to manage.
For these and other reasons, it is smart to get quotes from several insurance companies following a drunk driving conviction.