When a Kentucky traffic stop leads to a charge of driving while intoxicated or driving under the influence, you may face serious penalties if the charge results in a conviction. You may have to pay large fines and attend substance abuse treatment programs. You should also expect to have to turn over your driver’s license for a set amount of time, which may lead to additional problems and hardships.
Per Ky.gov, you may be able to reduce how long you have to go without a driver’s license by enrolling in Kentucky’s Ignition Interlock Program.
How the KIIP works
When you enroll in the KIIP, you must install an ignition interlock device on every vehicle you drive. The device requires you to blow an acceptable, alcohol-free breath sample before your car is started. To be able to cut back on how long you lose your license after a drunk driving conviction, you must remain violation-free for either 90 or 120 days, depending on what type of conviction you have.
How the KIIP affects license suspension times
If, after a first-time DUI or DWI, you remain free from violations for at least 90 consecutive days, you may lose your license for only four months. If you receive a second DUI or DWI conviction within a 10-year span and have at least 120 days of violation-free ignition interlock device use, you should be able to get your driver’s license back after a 12-month suspension period.
Failing to supply an adequate breath sample when the device requests one is an example of a KIIP violation. Driving a vehicle without an ignition interlock device installed on it is another.